Constructed back in 1760 and once home to three whaling captains, the magnificent historic Nantucket home known as the Captain Robert Wyer House has undergone an extensive, multi-year renovation led by Niche Architects.
With multiple living areas, three fireplaces, and an enchanting widow’s walk (a railed rooftop platform) offering breathtaking water vistas, the house emanates a sense of timeless allure.
In the dining room, the designer removed the back right door and added in the multi-panel windows due to wear. Original salvaged doors from the rear-el make up the seat and seat back of the banquette in the dining room.
This guest bedroom features a layering of textures. The lobster fisherman painting was found at the Art Association on the island. Above the bed hangs a map of Kings Court in London.
The original layout of the owner’s suite consisted of two adjoining bedrooms. In order to create the new suite, the smaller of the bedrooms was converted into a bathroom.
The project team converted this space into an outdoor bar and lounge area. Directly behind the patio, is a great space to entertain and enjoy drinks and appetizers with friends and family on those Nantucket summer evenings.
The interior of the backyard pub features swing-down awning windows. The stingray on the wall was found in the flea markets in Clignancourt.